• GIA Certification

    All our jewels come with a certificate from the American Gemmology Institute (GIA), the world’s most trusted and stringent body in diamond grading and certification. There are four main, universally accepted criteria which determine the quality and value of a diamond, the four Cs: carat, cut, colour, clarity.

    Weight (carat)
               The weight of a diamond is measured in
               carats according to an international standard
               dating back to 1907.The probable origin of
               this measurement is the carob seed, which
    has been used as a measurement unit in the gemstone trade since Antiquity. ne carat weighs 0.20 grams.

    The cut reveals the beauty of a diamond, the way it plays with the light. An uncut, rough diamond is opaque and does not sparkle. The cut highlights all the qualities of the stone. The position and orientation of the facets give it maximum sparkle, regardless of the chosen cut: brilliant, princess, oval, pear, heart etc.

    The less colour a white diamond has, the more rare and precious it is. An international classification sets out a scale of colours starting from D, for totally colourless diamonds, going down the alphabet as shades of colour appear. For its engagement rings, Chaumet only uses extra-white or exceptional diamonds, from D to G.

    Each stone is unique. Clarity is determined by    x the number and size of inclusions, natural “accidents” linked to the crystallisation process. A diamond with very few inclusions reflects light better, although diamonds without any flaws are very rare. A diamond is considered “clear” if no inclusions are visible under 10x magnification.
    An international scale grades stones from IF to I3. For its engagement rings, Chaumet uses diamonds grade from IF to VS, in which the inclusions are not visible to the naked eye.

11564 > <